What is Find My iPhone and how does it work
Apple launched the Find My iPhone app back in 2011, which helped people locate their iPhone(s) if they were stolen or lost. In September 2013, they introduced location-based tracking known as “Find My Friends” that helps people to share their locations with friends and family. Find My Friends function allows the owner to see where their friends are through their iPhone, iPad or iPod touch and vice versa. The Find My Friends feature is enabled by default for services such as iCloud and Find my Friends, but can be disabled. If you want to view your friends’ locations, you can invite them and they will receive a notification on their iPhones, which they can accept or reject.
How do I use Find My Friends?
1.You can enable iCloud or Find My Friends background location in your iPhone settings. If this setting is enabled and someone turns off Location Services on their iPhone, their location will still be sent to your iPhone, depending on the terms of their privacy settings.
2. If you have Find My iPhone enabled for your iCloud account, you can access the Find My Friends app by running the app launcher and going to Find my iPhone.
How to freeze your location on Find My iPhone
To freeze your location, from the home screen of your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch, tap Settings > iCloud > Find My Friends. Tap the green switch next to “Location” so it turns off. To turn on, tap the switch again.
This will help prevent your device from sharing its location with other devices or people. While location is frozen, you won’t be able to use Find My iPhone or Find My Friends on your devices. We recommend that you periodically unfreeze your location when you need to share it with others or locate a device. You can unfreeze your location at any time by following these steps:
To freeze your location, tap Settings > [your phone name (e.g. iPhone 5) > iCloud > Find My Friends. Tap the green switch next to “Location” so it turns off. To turn on, tap the switch again.
If you have a passcode set for your device, you will need to type your passcode before unfreezing your location.
Why would you want to freeze your location on Find My iPhone
If you are concerned about your device’s battery life or have a limited data plan, you can freeze your location temporarily. If you freeze your location when the Find My iPhone app is launched, it will only use location information until it is frozen, after which it will not send further location data to iCloud. This means that if you move to a different location that is not near the one where your device is currently located, your device will not find you.
If you lose your device and want to reduce the time it takes to locate it, you can unfreeze your location as soon as you launch the Find My iPhone app. This will cause the location of your device to be sent to iCloud, allowing it to be located on a map. Note that it will take a few minutes for this location data to reach iCloud.
You can also disable location tracking for all devices signed in to your iCloud account at any time by going to icloud.com/find and signing out of iCloud on the “Find My iPhone” page.