What is the retention policy for Marketo data and why was it put in place
Marketo’s retention is put in place for a reason. “I think it’s super important that we have the retention policy because otherwise you could be storing data forever, and most customers don’t want you to do that.” – Hilary Murphy, director of marketing at Marketo.
But what does retention really mean? And how long is too long for data to be saved? Read on to learn more.
Marketo’s retention policy is intended to help you make informed choices about where your data should be stored and how it should be used. “We think this provides a lot of value.” – Hilary Murphy, director of marketing at Marketo.
You have the right to ask Marketo where you friends’ data is being stored and why it was collected in the first place. Clearly, both parties have a right to privacy – and Marketo has designed its retention policy to respect that.
“At Marketo we’re always looking to give our customers the best experience possible.” – Hilary Murphy, director of marketing at Marketo. “So we want to share that data with our partners who are helping us execute on [our] behalf.”
How long does Marketo keep data and how can you delete it
1. How long is Marketo keeping my data?
2. How can I delete that data?
3. What’s the basis for keeping my personal information indefinitely?
4. I have a new job offer, so I want to change my contact information on one of my clients’ accounts. I would like to get Marketo’s permission to make this change. Can I do this as my new contact?
5. What happens if I decide tomorrow that I never want Marketo to use or disclose my data?
1. How long is Marketo keeping my data?
What are the consequences of not adhering to the retention policy
Marketo will be performing a limited data purge or retention cleanup from time to time. This is done to ensure that the data stored by Marketo is relevant and up-to-date to continue providing the most relevant information.
If there is a need to remove any data that has been collected for a client or contact, Marketo will notify the client prior to performing the cleanup.
This does not mean that any information will be deleted permanently. Following the cleanup, Marketo customers can re-import their data into Marketo.
Due to the nature of powering a marketing ecosystem for which data is constantly being created and deleted, there is a need to periodically perform cleanups.
Cleanup will include:
A) The removal of records older than 7-10 days. This includes records that were created or updated after these times (and are no longer relevant.) B) “Deleted” records. These record were marked as such by the user when appropriate, but after further review could be re-enabled. (These records will not be re-enabled.) C) Any records that are associated with a contact that has their record set to “deleted”. (These contacts will not be re-enabled.)
Will Marketo ask me if I want to retain my data?
How can you make sure your data is deleted after you leave your job or stop using Marketo
Any data stored by Marketo is deleted immediately upon removal of the user from the system or after a predetermined period of inactivity (usually 90 days, but this term may vary). You can ensure that all data is deleted by following the instructions in the deletion policy.
One other thing to point out here is that the data is deleted immediately upon removal, even if they are removed while the delay triggers are still in place. This means that if you decide to stop using Marketo and remove yourself from the site but before 90 days of no activity have passed, the data will still be deleted. This is generally true for any Marketo application but especially true for Marketo and Adobe products.
NOTE: If you wish to retain your data for any reason (e.g. for reference for a specific account or for legal reasons) please contact support.
You can do this through the Marketo message library, see the list of common questions below.